Thank you for visiting the new official website of Pangasinan which contains relevant information and vivid pictures about our province and our people punctuated by Pangasinan's rich cultural heritage, tourist destinations and the dawning of the golden era.

We allocated substantial space for latest news and events in Pangasinan to keep you well-informed and to kindle your love to our province.

As we envisioned Pangasinan to be the best place to invest, work, live and raise a family - we encourage you
to join us in our quest
to make Pangasinan
number one.

Keep in touch online
and share Pangasinan
to the world.
Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Monthly Archives


Tayug was first organized as a municipality in the Province of Nueva Ecija on February 4, 1817.  In 1837, Tayug was ceded to the Province of Pangasinan.  In 1851, it was once again
incorporated with the Province of Nueva Ecija.  Not until 1864 was Tayug again made a part of Pangasinan.

The town of Tayug got its name from a very tall tree that once grew in the heart of the town.  The Bacayao tree was so tall that in Ilocano they call it “Layug”.  Due to the difficulty of the people to pronounce the letter “L”, they changed it to the letter “T” by common usage.  Hence, the name TAYUG came about.

LAND AREA                       :    5,130 hectares
POPULATION                    :    38,803
NO. OF BARANGAYS      :    21
CLASSIFICATION            :    3rd class
TOWN FIESTA                    :    March 15-17
PRODUCTS                           :    commercial crops, livestock and poultry
POINTS OF INTEREST     :    St. Patrick Church    (1817)