December 2, 2017, Filed under Press Release
Pangasinan bags 2017 Seal of Good Local Governance Award

SGLG AWARD FOR PANGASINAN. Governor Amado I. Espino, III receives the SGLG Award from Secretary Francis Tolentino during the National Awarding Ceremony – North Luzon Cluster on November 27, at the Manila Hotel.Flanking them are (From L-R): Usec. Eduardo Año, incoming DILG Secretary; Usec. Catalino Cuy, DILG-OIC; Benita Pizarro, Pangasinan Provincial Planning and Development Office Coordinator, Regional Director James Fadrilan, Assistant RD Victoria Ramos and DILG Provincial Director Agnes De Leon. The SGLG award is the third year in a row for Pangasinan covering calendar years 2015, 2016 and 2017. (Photo by Meinardo Sadim)


LINGAYEN, Pangasinan – Governor Amado I. Espino, III received the Seal of Good Local Governance award from the Department of the Interior and Local Government during the National Awarding Ceremony for North Luzon cluster at the Manila Hotel on November 27.

This was the second time Pangasinan was conferred with the prestigious award under the watch of the young governor who sustained the tradition of excellence in good governance set by his predecessor, former governor and now fifth district representative, Cong. Amado T. Espino, Jr.

The awarding ceremony was led by Political Adviser, Secretary Francis N. Tolentino, incoming DILG Secretary Eduardo Ano and DILG officer-in-charge Catalino Cuy.

Tolentino said that the SGLG awardees are the “best leaders in Northern Luzon,” even as he urged the local government executives in attendance to practice “servant leadership.”

In his welcome remaks, Usec. Cuy, a former SAF commander,  said that SGLG awardees are the cream of the crop among local government units which “went through the eye of the needle”  to make it as an awardee.

The DILG OIC said that out of 81 provinces, 145 cities and 1,488 municipalities, only 448 local government units are SGLG awardees, noting that the award recipients have to pass the upgraded criteria of SGLG covering the  core areas and essential areas, namely: financial administration, disaster management, social protection, peace and order, business friendliness and competitiveness, environmental management, and toursim, culture and arts.

Aside from LGU-Pangasinan, the DILG also conferred SGLG awards to all the four cities of Pangasinan and 28 out of the 44 municipalities in the province.

The awardees from Pangasinan are: Alaminos City, San Carlos City, Urdaneta City, Dagupan City, Aguilar, Alcala, Asingan, Balungao, Bautista, Bayambang, Binalonan, Bolinao, Bugallon, Burgos, Calasiao, Dasol, Infanta, Laoac, Lingayen, Malasiqui, Manaoag, Mangaldan, Mangatarem, Rosales, San Fabian, San Manuel, San Nicolas, Sta. Barbara, Tayug, Umingan, Urbiztondo and Villasis.

Of the 81 provinces in the country, only 28 provincial LGUs to include the province of Pangasinan successfully hurdled the series of validations by DILG to bag the 2017 SGLG.

Based on the SGLG 2017 list, the province of Pangasinan has the most number of  recipient LGUs in the whole country.



Leave a Reply



Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Monthly Archives