May 18, 2017, Filed under Press Release




LINGAYEN, PANGASINAN — Revelers and supporters cheered as 259 triathletes from various parts of the country raced to showcase their prowess on the test of speed and endurance in the Tigasin Triathlon on May 14, held at the Lingayen Capitol Beachfront.

Governor Amado I. Espino III, congratulated the winners and lauded all the triathletes for completing the race. Addressing the audience during the awarding ceremonies at the Provincial Training and Development Center, the provincial chief executive stated that being competitive is not only for competitions, rather it is an everyday practice for growth and development as exemplified by the achievements of the Provincial Government of Pangasinan since 2007.

The young governor likewise expressed his gratitude to the organizers, Trisports Solutions, and event sponsor Northern Cement Corporation, for choosing Pangasinan specifically Lingayen as host venue for the 3rd TIGASIN Triathlon.

The two-day event was preluded by the TIGASIN Open Water Swimming Competition on May 13, while the main Triathlon event took place on May 14.

Expressing their admiration for the provincial governments’ grounds and facilities, first timer in Pangasinan triathletes commented how they almost drifted and somewhat forgot they were in a race.

After hurdling the challenging strong Lingayen beach current in the first leg of the race,they remarked how they marveled at the lush greens and picturesque baywalk, and the Maramba Boulevard during the second (cycling) and third (running) leg of the competition.

Sprint male open category winner Paulo Vispo of Team Aljay Multisports, said Lingayen was a perfect venue for the athletes because of its flat terrain which helped athletes finish the race at a faster pace.

Triathlon Elites, Sea Games gold medalist Nikko Huelgas of team Go for Gold, and Monica Torres of team Standard Insurance bagged 1st place for the 51.5 kilometer male open category while the latter won the female open category. Both Huelgas, and Torres received trophies and Php 50,000.00 cash prize.

Paolo Vispo of Team ALJAY Multisports bagged 1st place, in the Male Sprint Open Category while Nicole Danielle Eijansantos won the same in the female Sprint Open Category both bringing home each a trophy and Php 5,000.00 cash price.

Provincial Tourism Officer Malou Elduayan said she is elated the provincial government hosted a tourist-oriented triathlon featuring the thoroughfares of Lingayen. Elduayan quipped that with the acknowledgment and feedback from the triathletes, the said event not only featured the province but opened an opportunity for locals to witness such sports to inspire youngsters to join these rigorous sports activities.

Northern Cement Corporation General Manager Oliver Gorospe extolled the provincial government for fully supporting the 3rd Tigasin Triathlon to which he said is one for the books and by far the most successful of the triathlons they organized in the past five years.

Winners of the Tigasin Triathlon in the different categories took home trophies and cash prizes.

Other winners of the TIGASIN TRIATHLON are:

Standard Distance Male Open Category: 2nd place John Leerams Chicano (The Podium Boutique Hotel), 3rd place Juan Carlos Abad (NCC Tri Team); Standard Distance Female Open Category: 2nd place Sandi Abahan (The Podium Boutique Hotel), 3rd place Vicky Deldio (Yellow Cab Tri Clark). Sprint Male Open Category 2nd place Clifford Pusing (Yellow Cab Tri Clark) Marcus Faytaren; Sprint Male Open Category 2nd place Nica Deldio. Male Standard Distance By Age Group Category: 30-34 1st place Jeffrey Balbas (OneTwoTri), 2nd place Mark Jester Gujucom; 45-49 1st place Romeo Marquez (Team Marquez); 2nd place Jessie Magat; 50-54 1st place John Darius Villanueva (Yellow Cab Tri Clark); 2nd place David Richmond (Sante Barley Tri Team); 55 and above Doddie Dino (The Podium Boutique Hotel); Female Standard Distance By Age Group Category: 16-19 Trishan Badua; 20-24 Alexandra Faith Garcia (Century Trihard); 25-29 1st place Edna Agoo (Team Marquez); 2nd place Diana Marie de Guzman (Team Marquez); 35-39 1st Place Ann Maris Balibat (Yellow Tri Clark); 2nd place Maypette Ng(Yellow Tri Clark); 3rd place Kristine Golez (Parokya ni boc);40-44  1st place Carol Marie Lorenzo (Century Trihard); Joan Aparentado (The Podium Boutique Hotel); Female Sprint by Age Category: 12-15 Samantha Nalo (Yellow Cab Tri Clark); 20-24 Allyza Marie Santiago (The Podium Boutique Hotel); 25-29 Tricia Mae Garrido (Team Marquez); 30-34 1st place Leia Charise Angeles; 2nd place Mimi Tibayan(The Podium Boutique Hotel); 35-39 1st place Wendy Salada (The Podium Boutique Hotel), 2nd place DaisylynPaez (TRIMAC); 40-45 1st place Maureen Corpuz, 2nd place Amerah Diaralan; 45-49 1st place Gladys De Leon (BikeN’Trek); 2nd place Mary Rose So (Team Marquez); 50-54 Floredeliza Galicia (Team Marquez); Male Sprint by Age Category: 12-15 Antonio Manuel Frias (ECG Medical System Tri Team); 16-19 1st place Marxsen Marshal Salaba(The Podium Boutique Hotel); 2nd place Den Oliver Caseja(Yellow Cab Tri Clark); 25-29 1st place Ralph Jansset De Guzman (The Podium Boutique Hotel); 2nd place Riz Marc Estrada (TST Tri Star Team); 3rd Mark Lester Abella(The Podium Boutique Hotel); 30-34 1st place Melvin Benzon(The Podium Boutique Hotel); 2nd place Warren Casil; 35-39 1st place Jonathan Papa (19APO25); 2nd place Carlos Napoleon Ocampo (team Seafood Island ESC); 3rd place Angel JosaDisini (Honeybee) 40-44 1st place Rayman Delos Angeles; 2nd place Dennis Garret Lee; 45-49 1st place Brett Carlos Garcia; 2nd place Antonio Quines; STANDARD DISTANCE RELAY 1ST place Team Pangasinan Multisport (Kyle Joseph Tabequero, RestyServito and Benedict Rincoraya); 2nd place Team Pangasinan Multisport(Jerald Ray Aguinaldo, Jesus Garcia, Larry Bernardino) SPRINT RELAY 1ST place Team Lucy (Sarah Marie Erana, Robin Fallara, ArtheusGenelGaerlan); 2nd place Team Pangasinan Multisport ( Josephine Grace Garcia, Alma Alog and Jennefer Aguinaldo)

2016 Bb. Pilipinas contestant Alexandra Faith Garcia representing Century Tri Hard  was among the triathletes who competed and won in one of the triathlon categories. (KRYSTLE MAE JIMENEZ REAMON)



Leave a Reply



Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Monthly Archives