April 11, 2017, Filed under In Focus



LINGAYEN, Pangasinan- – -Team Manaoag secured first win for the championship series by defeating Team Binmaley, 97-93, in the best of three games of the 1st Governor’s Cup Inter-Town Basketball Tournament held at the Narciso Ramos Sports and Civic Center (NRSCC) gymnasium on April 8.
Binmaley cagers started the game with intensity,  led by its star players notably the Melendez brothers Mark (#15) and Roxar  (#21), taking an early lead 6-1 with 7 minutes and 30 seconds time left in the first quarter.
On the other hand, Manaoag key players Manny Santos (#2) and Adrian Barrozo (#23) steered their team into a cohesive force turning the score in their favor, 16-17, at two minutes and 43 seconds time left in the first canto.


With two minutes left, both teams locked in two deadlocks, 19-19 and 21-21.


With 49 seconds left in the 1st quarter, Binmaley scored a two-point basket to bring in another deadlock, 23-23. But Manaoag’s game plan favored the team ending the 1st quarter with a two-point lead, 25-27.
Binmaley came back with a bang in the 2nd quarter and nailed a 7-point advantage in the end, 47-40. The 3rd quarter escalated to a fierce fight  as both teams were determined to win. Final score favored Manaoag team by two, 70-72.


In the first few minutes of the last quarter, Binmaley scored a two, 72-72. But, the power plays of Manaoag cagers went to their advantage, 76-82 at five minutes 42 seconds time left.


Manaoag team sustained the momentum with 3-point shot by Santos at two minutes and 17 seconds left, 87-93, and another three-pointer from Barrozo in the last two minutes, 89-96 limiting the numbers of the Melendez brothers who started to lose steam.


Manaoag ended the game with a 4-point lead to haul its first win, one win shy to get the championship crown.
Meawhile, Urdaneta City team defeated Alaminos City team in the battle for 3rd and fourth place. Final score ended, 93-84.


In between the two games, the final 3-point shootout and a slam-dunk competition were conducted. Winners for the 3-point shootout are: Lorence A Batalla (Urdaneta City), Champion/ 3-Point King; Chuck Barcelona (Urdaneta City), 1st runner-up; Ricardo Vergara (Lingayen), 2nd runner-up.


For the slam dunk competition, four cagers from different teams exhibited their moves. Final standing are as follows: Denver Suratos (Sta. Barbara), Rank 1; Renard Ballesteros (Calasiao), Rank 2; Ismael Sarmiento (Urdaneta City), Rank 3; Justine S. Bernardino (Lingayen), Rank 4.


The second game for the battle for championship will be on April 22 also at the same venue. It will be shown live in the Official Facebook Page of Pangasinan (facebook.com/pangasinan.gov.ph) and at USATV Cable TV (Community Channel #6) for live telecast to allow fans of Pangasinan basketball to watch the games in their respective homes anywhere in the country and elsewhere around the world.
The Governor’s Cup is another innovative project conceptualized by Gov. Amado “Pogi” I. Espino, III. (Ruby R. Bernardino)




Leave a Reply



Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Monthly Archives