May 1, 2012, Filed under Press Release

Charmaine Lyn C. Leano of Urdaneta City and Marvin R. Munoz bagged this year’s championship crown in this year’s edition of Takayan na Dayew (Vocal Solo Competition) in the Babalulaki tan Mamarikit and Ugugaw categories, respectively.
Nineteen year-old Leano, who was the first lady champion of the contest since its inception as one of the highlights of the Pistay Dayat, mesmerized the audience with her soulful rendition of the song “I Surrender” while nine year-old Munoz won the nod of the judges and the audience with his version of the song “Go the Distance.”
Despite the heavy downpour which prompted the organizers to switch venue from the Capitol Grandstand to the elegant and historic Sison Auditorium, the performers did not fail to outshine each other with their artistic interpretation of their chosen piece- – -a proof that Pangasinan is indeed a “melting pot of musical talents.”
Provincial Administrator Rafael Baraan, who represented Governor Amado T. Espino, Jr., congratulated the winners even as he said that the event serves as a stepping for all young amateur singers in Pangasinan who wish to elevate their careers into the national level.
Takayan na Dayew, which is now on its fifth year, has produced great talents like Michael John Narag of Mabini in 2008 who was one of the grand finalists of Pilipinas Got Talent, and Renz Ruther Robosa  of San Carlos City in 2009, now a GMA artist and last year’s grand prize winner in a prestigious national singing competition sponsored by PAGCOR.
Baraan commended the 27 finalists as he said that Pangasinan is truly blessed with young artists endowed with exceptional talent in singing. “We have institutionalized this singing competition to provide an opportunity for our budding talents to enter the national scene or even international,” he noted.
Runner-ups for the two categories are as follows: Ugugaw- Angela Ruth M. Serafica (Mapandan), 1st runner-up; Kim Arnold M. Buccat (Anda), 2nd runner-up; Babalulaki and Mamarikit- Ethiel V. Baradi (Lingayen), 1st runner-up; Joan V. Lambino (Dagupan City), 2nd runner-up.
Prizes for the champions include P20,000 each plus trophies and certificates of participation, P15,000 (plus trophy and certificate) for the 1st runner-up, and P10,000 (plus trophy and certificate) for the 2nd runner-up.
All non-winning finalists went home with P5,000 each and certificate of participation.
Takayan na Dayew was a popular Pangasinan singing contest aired over radio in 1963 which was revived by the present administration spearheaded by Gov. Espino in 2008 as one of the regular activities of the sea festival. (PIO/Ruby R. Bernardino)



Leave a Reply



Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Monthly Archives