May 4, 2012, Filed under Press Release

It will be a memorable Palarong Pambansa in the province of Pangasinan as all elements of the opening ceremonies on May 7 at 10 a.m. (7 am – start of parade) at the Narciso Ramos Sports and Civic Center (NRSCC) Grandstand are being meticulously organized.
President Benigno S. Aquino III will arrive for the opening program that is expected to gather approximately 30,000 spectators including the delegates and guests.  
Gov. Amado T. Espino, Jr. was represented by Vice-Gov. Jose Ferdinand Calimlim, Provincial Administrator Rafael Baraan, Palaro 2012 Secretariat Head Atty. Verna Perez and other department heads during a final meeting on May 4 with representatives of the Presidential Management Staff, Malacañang Press Corps, Presidential Security Group, Protocol Officers, Media Accreditation and Relations Office, Radio-TV Malacañang, Pangasinan Police Provincial Office, Philippine National Police Region 1, Department of Education (DepEd) Region 1, Philippine Information Agency and other concerned offices.      
Presidential Management Staff Regional Team Leader Cesar Tuliao facilitated the meeting.
Based on the program, delegates of the 17 regions will assemble at 6 a.m. at the NRSCC for the parade that will commence at 7 a.m.
The opening program is slated at 10 a.m which will begin with the singing of the Philippine National Anthem and the Pangasinan Hymn led by the Pangasinan Provincial Chorale, to be followed by an ecumenical prayer.
Next, Gov. Espino will deliver a welcome message followed by the ceremonial turnover of the Palarong Pambansa banner.
Mayor Dominador G. Jalosjos, Jr of Dapitan City and Regional Director Dr. Walter O. Albos of DepEd Region IX will turnover the said banner to Gov. Espino and Assistant Regional Director Teresita M. Velasco of DepEd Region 1.
The Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts of the Philippines will hoist the Palarong Pambansa banner, DepEd banner and the delegation banner.
Palarong Pambansa 2011 Gold Medalist in Elementary Taekwondo Christian Rafael V. Daroy will lead the oath of sportsmanship.
Palaro 2012 Technical Management and Administration Deputy Secretary-General Cesar S. Abalon will lead the oath of officials.
The next activity will be the lighting of the urn of peace and friendship that will be led by P-Noy and Gov. Espino.
Philippine Basketball Association player Danny Ildefonso of Petron Blaze team, who joined Palarong Pambansa 1994 and 1995 as basketball star of Region 1, will also lit a torch and relay it on to a representative of a participating region who will relay it to the next region until it reaches the Region 1 representative who will light the urn.

DepEd Secretary Armin Luistro will make the necessary introductions for P-Noy, who will deliver his message and will formally declare the opening of Palarong Pambansa 2012.
A field demonstration depicting the national games will follow.
As of today, 90 percent of the delegates from the 17 regions are now in Pangasinan and are comfortably billeted in various schools in the province, according to Sangguniang Panlalawigan Member Jeremy Agerico Rosario, chairman of the committee on education.
Rosario said each Board Member has been assigned specific regional delegates to oversee the security and needs. (PIO/Sheila H. Aquino)



Leave a Reply



Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Monthly Archives