February 8, 2011, Filed under Press Release

Lingayen- – -Young athletes of Bolinao town are dominating the various sporting events particularly in the field of athletics for the 5th Pangasinan 1 Division Olympic Games held at the sprawling Narciso Ramos Sports and Civic Center on February 8 to 11.

This was revealed by Dr. Alfredo Nipal, PESS Education Program Specialist 1, as he said that the contingent is well represented in almost all the different sports event of the competition.

“Bolinao athletes had the edge in the athletics competition because they are well-prepared, focused and determined to win,” Nipal said as he added that the Bolinao contingent is the perennial champion since the start of the division meet in 2007.

The four-day sports spectacle, which formally opened on February 8 with a parade and short program, is participated by more than 4,000 elementary and high school students, whose sports prowess will be tested in various sporting events like athletics, volleyball, basketball, sepak takraw, soccer, chess, gymnastics softball, baseball and swimming.

Vice Governor Jose Ferdinand Z. Calimlim, Jr, who represented Governor Amado T. Espino, Jr. during the opening ceremony, said that the provincial government fully supports the said undertaking even as he said that the provincial chief executive is contemplating on improving and enhancing the sports capability of Pangasinense athletes thru the provision of better sports facilities such as the NRSCC  which serves as a venue for training young Pangasinense athletes in their respective line of specialty.

It will be recalled that the provincial government has initially improved the NRSCC which is now an athletic haven to various sports activities not just province-wide but also regional, national and even international events.

DepEd Division 1 thanked the provincial government for the all-out support it has been extending to the youth specifically on the area of sports development.

“Maganda ang ginagawa ng provincial government sa pamumuno ni Governor Espino kaya nagiging inspirado ang mga bata na pagbutihin ang kanilang talento sa pampalakasan dahil sa suporta na natatanggap nila tuwing kompetisyon,” said Dr. Aurora T. Domingo, Schools Division Superintendent as she disclosed that all participants are considered “the best athletes in their respective towns” having won in the district and municipal meets, respectively, before qualifying into the division meet.

Winners for the division meet will automatically become the Pangasinan 1 representatives for the upcoming Ilocos Region Athletics Association (IRAA) Meet in March while some athletes from the losing contingents will also be selected to compete the delegation that will vie in the regional meet.

The 22 towns under Division 1 are as follows: Agno, Aguilar, Anda, Bani, Basista, Bayambang, Binmaley, Bolinao, Bugallon, Burgos, Calasiao, Dasol, Infanta, Labrador, Mabini, Malasiqui, Mangatarem, Mapandan, Sta. Barbara, Sual, Urbiztondo and Lingayen.

Awarding ceremonies for the division meet is set on February 11, 2 o,clock in the afternoon at the NRSCC grandstand. (PIO/Ruby R. Bernardino)



Leave a Reply



Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Monthly Archives